sfam Drop ‘neutral ground’ EP via Rezz's Label HypnoVizion [Listen]

sfam Drop ‘neutral ground’ EP via Rezz’s Label HypnoVizion [Listen]


Today, the duo sfam, hailing from New Orleans, has released their highly anticipated EP titled neutral ground on the renowned HypnoVizion label, owned by Rezz.

This four-track project takes listeners on an exhilarating journey into the unconventional realms of bass and hybrid trap, synonymous with HypnoVizion’s signature sound. The EP kicks off with the eerie and experimental track “Bad Blood,” setting the tone for what’s to come. Following that is the captivating and intense focus track, “Lezdewit.” “neutral ground” continues to captivate with its haunting builds and impactful drops in the track “Unhinged.” Finally, the EP concludes with the rebellious anthem “neutral ground,” a collaborative effort with DMVU, a talented producer from Denver.

Throughout the EP, sfam skillfully explores a combination of dizzying melodies, gritty basslines, and unconventional broken-beat rhythms. These musical choices align with the bold artistic vision of Rezz’s emerging label, making sfam a natural addition to the growing HypnoVizion family.

Reflecting on their work, sfam shared, “This EP has been one of our favorite projects to date. We ventured into different tempos, challenging ourselves and pushing the boundaries. Our aim is always to create music that stands out from the rest. We’re incredibly grateful to have found a home for our music on such a genuine and impressive label. We have immense appreciation for Rezz and her team for believing in us.”

sfam, the audacious duo based in New Orleans, consists of childhood friends Jacob Hoerner and Michael Pearson. Since 2014, they have been dedicated to DJing and producing music together, gradually building their reputation and establishing themselves as rising stars in the US bass music scene. Their passion for bass extends beyond their electrifying performances at renowned festivals like Hangout Festival and Beyond Wonderland. Their studio productions, including their self-released debut album “below sea level” in 2022, demonstrate their versatility, depth, and penchant for experimentation. Their tracks have garnered support from influential figures in the industry such as Liquid Stranger, CRAZE, Buku, and more. Additionally, sfam has collaborated with notable artists such as Dirt Monkey, Eazybaked, and Mersiv. They have also contributed remixes for esteemed acts like ATLiens, Boogie T., Wreckno, and UZ.

Tracklist for “neutral ground” EP:

  1. Bad Blood
  2. Lezdewit
  3. Unhinged
  4. neutral ground (with DMVU)

Upcoming Tour Dates for sfam:

September 15 – Frost Amphitheatre – Stanford, CA

Related Content: