Bomba Estereo Announce 'Deja' Album, Releases 3 Singles + Video

Bomba Estereo Announce ‘Deja’ Album, Release 3 Singles + Video [Watch]

Colombian electro-folkloric dance band Bomba Estéreo announce that their first album in four years titled ‘Deja’ will be coming this Spring.

The LP, titled ‘Deja,’ is divided conceptually into four sections that correspond with the earth’s four elements: Agua (Water), Aire (Air), Tierra (Earth), and Fuego (Fire). The forthcoming project is being mixed by Damian Taylor who is known for his work with The Killers, Arcade Fire, and The Prodigy.

The Grammy-nominated and female-fronted group have also graced us with the ‘Agua’ section of the project which consists of three tracks: “Agua,” “Deja” and “Soledad.” Coming with the three tracks is the visual for “Deja” which is a tribal dance track with electronic elements that features Colombian artist Lido Pimienta and Afro-Cuban duo OKAN on backing vocals.

The “Agua” music video was directed by Bomba’s singer Liliana “Li” Saumet and filmed on Colombia’s Caribbean coast near her home. “The video comes from an idea I had about a ritual, entering into a parallel universe in which we find ourselves in a deeper connection with nature, in a more surreal and feminine way,” Li explains.

The group are also active environmentalists, fighting against deforestation and mining in Colombia. Just last month their founder/band leader Simon Mejia released the documentary “Sonic Forest,” presented by Joaquin Phoenix, which follows his journey from the Pacific coast’s Afro-Colombian communities to indigenous mountain towns as he learns about the groups who have united to protect the rainforest.

Check out the video for “Agua” above and follow Bomba Estereo to keep up with the rest of their album!

Related Content:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.